2010s: The dawn of Personalized Medicine

2010s: The cancer genome atlas project elucidates the molecular pathology of ovarian, endometrial and cervical cancer

2010s: Development of biological therapies (antiangiogenics, PARP inhibitors, immune therapy drugs) and companion diagnostic tests that guide these therapies

2010s: Sentinel node approaches are adopted in vulvar, cervical and endometrial cancers

2010s: SGO expands its focus dramatically towards providers in radiation and medical oncology and to nurses and APPs and researchers in the field nationally and to international members—women come to comprise the majority of the group

2010s: Increased attention to palliative care and the quality at the end of life

2010: Establishment of the Foundation for Gynecologic Oncology (FGO)

2010: Addition of allied health members

2010: Other specialists become full SGO members

2010 SGO President: Daniel Clarke-Pearson, MD (Orlando, FL, 2011)

2011: GCF becomes Foundation for Women’s Cancer (FWC)


2011: SGO becomes Society of Gynecologic Oncology

2011: Residents invited to become SGO members

2011 SGO President: John P. Curtin, MD (Austin, TX, 2012)

2012: SGO creates International Committee

2012: SGO establishes Outcomes Research Institute 

2012 SGO President: Ronald D. Alvarez, MD (Los Angeles, CA, 2013)

2013: SGO White Paper: Creating a New Paradigm in Gynecologic Cancer Care: Policy Proposals for Delivery, Quality and Reimbursement

2013: Legacy Society established at Annual Meeting

  • Vicki Orr with James Orr, Jr., MD, FACOG, FACS
  • Farr Nezhat, MD, FACOG, FACS
  • Bruce Patsner, MD, JD

2013: GOG merged into NRG Oncology 

2013 SGO President: Barbara A. Goff, MD (Tampa, FL, 2014)

2014: FDA approves Avastin (bevacizumab) for metastatic cervical cancer

2014: FDA approves Avastin (bevacizumab) plus chemotherapy for platinum-resistant recurrent ovarian cancer

2014: First Annual Meeting session focused on clinician wellness education, awareness and intervention techniques

2014 SGO President: Richard R. Barakat, MD (Chicago, IL, 2015)

2015: SGO’s Government Relations Committee reorganized into the Health Policy and Socioeconomic Committee

2015 SGO President: Robert L. Coleman, MD (San Diego, CA, 2016)

2016: The FGO and the FWC merge

2016: FDA approves bevacizumab plus chemotherapy for a specific type of advanced ovarian cancer

2016 SGO President: Jeffrey M. Fowler, MD (National Harbor, MD, 2017)

2017: Uterine transposition demonstrated during a video plenary during the SGO Annual Meeting in National Harbor, MD

2017 SGO President: Laurel W. Rice, MD (New Orleans, LA, 2018)

2018: Advanced Practice Provider (APP) Task Force elevated to full committee status

2018: Carol L. Brown, MD (Honolulu, HI, 2019), becomes first African American female president of the SGO 

2018: FDA approves bevacizumab plus chemotherapy as a treatment for women with advanced ovarian cancer following initial surgery

2018: FDA approves pembrolizumab for advanced cervical cancer with disease progression during or after chemotherapy

2019: 50th anniversary celebration in Honolulu, HI